Property Search

Where is Croatia?

Given its newly found status as a tourist destination its not surprising to hear that some people ask "where is Croatia?".

Croatia is located in southern Europe nestled along the Adriatic Sea. It shares its northern border with  To the north is Hungary. On the east, Bosnia & Herzegovina tucks into Croatia's eastern border.  As the 127th largest country in the world Croatia boasts close to 57,000 square kilometers.  Despite its small size Croatia consists of over 5,835 km of coastline (mainland 1,777 km, islands 4,058 km).

Croatia consists of five regions Dalmatia, Kvarner, Slavonia, Central Croatia and Istria. Dalmatia spans the western coast line and stretches from Zadar to Dubrovnik. Kvarner sits just north of Dalmatia and is the home of Rijeka and Kvarner bay. Slavonia is the eastern most region bordering Bosnia & Herzegovina and Serbia. Istria is a famous peninsula bordering Slovenia to the north. Istria is famous for its Roman architecture including the Colosseum in Pula. The capital of Zagreb is located in Central Croatia. 

Due to it's central European location, Croatia is easily accessible by train, bus, plane, car or boat. Learn more about getting to Croatia.

Capital - Zagreb

Capital- Zagreb


Zagreb is the capital and the largest city of the Republic of CroatiaIn the last official census of 2011 the population of the City of Zagreb was 792,875.



Croatian Islands


Total of 1,185 islands, rocks and reefs: 48 inhabited islands, 670 uninhabited islands (Croatian: Otoci), 389 rocks (hridi) and 78 reefs (grebeni).



8 National Parks


National Park Brijuni, National Park Krka, National Park Kornati, National Park Mljet, National Park Paklenica, National Park Plitvička Jezera, National Park Risnjak, National Park Sjeverni Velebit.





According to the last census in 2011., Croatia has 4.284.889 inhabitants. 





The official currency in Croatia is the Kuna (1 kuna = 100 lipa). Banknotes: Freq Used: kn5, kn10, kn20, kn50, kn100, kn200, kn500, kn1000